About Leadership

The USRSB is comprised of the following five constituencies: producers, allied industry, packers/processing, retail/food service, and civil society.

The Board of Directors, made up of equal board seats from representation of each constituency, directs the activities of the USRSB. The Board of Directors guides the work of the USRSB through Working Groups, Committees and Task Forces. It is through these working groups that the USRSB’s work is accomplished.

These working groups examine issues and seek solutions to advance, support and communicate continuous improvement in beef sustainability.

To learn more about the efforts of the working groups or if you are interested in signing up as a volunteer, please contact the USRSB Administrator for additional details on how to become more engaged.

Board of Directors

Steve Wooten (CHAIR)

Colorado Cattlemen's Association

Debbie Lyons-Blythe (CHAIR-ELECT)

Kansas Livestock Association

Mike Williams

California Cattlemen's Association

Tom McDonald

Five Rivers Cattle Feeding


Golden State Foods

Nikki Richardson


Cameron Bruett


Jessica Finck

Merck Animal Health

Sara Place

Elanco Animal Health



Michelle Calvo-Lorenzo

Elanco Animal Health

Townsend Bailey

McDonald's Corporation

Caitlin Colegrove

Target Corporation

Mike Brems

McDonald's Corporation

Bethany Fitzgerald

Target Corporation

Rob Manes

The Nature Conservancy

Kristie Maczko

Sustainable Rangelands Roundtable

Nancy Labbe

The Nature Conservancy

Chad Ellis

Partnership of Rangeland Trust

Scott Anderson (Secretary/Treasurer)

CRI Feeders of Guymon [Ex-Officio]


Outreach Working Group

Co-Chairs: Debbie Lyons Blythe (Blythe Family Farms), Josh White (National Cattlemen's Beef Association) and Chad Ellis (Noble Research Institute)

Scope of Work: To increase awareness, uptake and implementation of the U.S. Beef Industry Sustainability Framework across all sectors of the beef value chain by encouraging the incorporation of USRSB indicators, metrics and sustainability assessment guide material into existing programs. Develop self-assessment tools, education and outreach programs, resources or initiatives, where needed, to support uptake of the Framework.

Communications Working Group

Co-Chairs: Jennie Hodgen (Merck Animal Health) and Townsend Bailey (McDonald’s Corporation)

Scope of Work: Assist with the execution and implementation of the communications plan to advance the mission and vision of USRSB, including oversight of the annual report and strategically identifying and utilizing events to deliver key messages.

Goals Committee

Co-Chairs: Sara Place (Elanco Animal Health) and Steve Wooten (Colorado Cattlemen's Association)

Scope of Work: Engage with life cycle assessment scientists, industry experts, academia, allied industry, civil society and external advisors to (1) develop U.S. beef value chain goals for each of the high priority sustainability indicators; (2) collaborate with producers, packers, processors, retailers and food service representatives to establish sector-specific targets for metrics that contribute to the value chain goals for each indicator; and (3) establish the methodology for tracking progress against all goals.

Recognition Program Committee

Co-Chairs: Michelle Calvo-Lorenzo (Elanco Animal Health) and Rob Manes (The Nature Conservancy)

Scope of Work: While it is not within the scope of USRSB to provide certification or verification for adoption of the U.S. Beef Industry Sustainability Framework, the Recognition Program Committee will establish and oversee a process to evaluate existing and/or new supply-chain programs that include or intend to include parameters that align with the Framework.

Project and Resource Review Committee

Co-Chairs: Clayton Huseman (Kansas Livestock Association) and William Burnidge (The Nature Conservancy)

Scope of Work: Review and support external projects, field trials, pilot projects, research projects and resources that align with the USRSB vision and mission, including oversight of approved projects, progress reports and results.

General Assembly Planning Task Force

Co-Chairs: Jessica Finck (Merck Animal Health) and Shannon Wharton (Wharton 3C Cattle)

Scope of Work: Assist in guiding the planning and execution of the annual General Assembly meeting, including site selection for the meeting, theme, sponsorship opportunities, promotional material, tour stops, keynote addresses, speakers and panels, as well as other meeting logistics.

Feed Sustainability Task Force

Co-Chairs: Constance Culman (American Feed Industry Association) and Damon Palmer (Corteva Agrisciences)

Scope of Work: Increase collaboration to identify areas of engagement around sustainable feed production as well as explore potential feed pilot projects.